Upgrade templates
If you open a calculation for which a new template is available, a message appears that gives you options for upgrading the template.
You can apply the new template, or compare the template versions to determine if you want to use the new template or keep the existing one.
When you apply a new template, the upgrade is not complete until you select the
Save
icon on the toolbar. If you close a calculation without saving changes, it reverts to the previous version.Option | Description |
|---|---|
Yes and Compare | Select this option to see the difference between the templates. When the workbook opens, you can navigate between sheets to see the changes to the template. Fields with changes are highlighted in orange, and you can hover over a change to show the previous value and other details where available. Select the Save icon on the toolbar to upgrade to the new template. |
Yes | Select this option to automatically upgrade to the new template. When you open the sheets, the new template is applied. Select the Save icon on the toolbar to upgrade to the new template. |
No | Select this option to continue using the existing template. |
Cancel | This option cancels opening the workbook. |
note
When you open your upgraded calculation, the upgrade is not retained until you save the calculation, unless you used the bulk upgrade function. Bulk upgraded calculations are automatically saved.
Following an upgrade, we strongly recommend that all data is reviewed to ensure that the changes are as expected in accordance with these Release Notes. If satisfied that the changes are appropriate, only then should you save your calculation. If you are not comfortable with the changes, close the calculation without saving to revert back to your previous version.
Upgrading to an Earlier Version of a Template
You can upgrade to a template that is not the latest version.
- SelectCalculationson the main menu bar.
- Select theMorebutton next to the calculation.
- From the menu that opens, selectUpgrade to.
- On the pop-up window, use the dropdown in theSelect Templatefield to specify the template you want to upgrade to.
Upgrading Templates in Bulk
You also have the option to upgrade multiple templates at the same time. All editable calculations in the selected dataset are upgraded to the latest version of the template. Calculations are upgraded in the background so you can continue to work.
- SelectCalculationson the main menu bar.
- Check the checkbox next to the datasets.
- In theActionscolumn, select theMorebutton next to any selected calculation.
- From the menu, selectUpgradeto upgrade to the latest template, orUpgrade toto upgrade to an earlier version of the template.
note
Calculations that are in use by another user are not upgraded.