Editing an invoice
You can use the Review tab of the
Billing
screen to make further changes to an invoice before you approve or post it.Follow these steps to edit an invoice.
- ChooseActions>Billing.
- Go to theReviewtab.
- Mark the checkbox for each invoice that you want to edit.
- Right-click and chooseOpen Selectedfrom the context menu.note
- If the invoice has one or more receipts applied to it, you must first unapply the receipts. A prompt will open to show the control dates on which the receipts were entered.
- If you are using the approval process for billing, and the invoice has been approved and / or posted, you must first unapprove and unpost the invoice. The staff ID of the person who approved / posted the invoice is shown in theApproved byandPosted byfields.
- Staff with security privileges to approve and post invoices can edit some of the information on invoices that have already been approved and/or postedwithoutunapproving or unposting them first. To do so, unmark theUnapproved onlyandUnposted onlycheckboxes, and then select the invoices that have been approved and/or posted.
- If you printed the invoice to DT Client Portal, you must first delete the invoice from DT Client Portal by right-clicking and choosingRemove from DT Client Portal. You will receive an alert asking you if you want to remove the invoice from DT Client Portal.
- The selected invoice opens in theDetail Billingscreen (regardless of which billing method you used to create the invoice), where you can make the desired changes.note
- If you change the invoice format, you will lose any changes made in theComposescreen.
- If you originally selected some but not all of the engagements when the original invoice was generated, unbilled WIP for all of the client’s engagements will appear on the Time & Expense Entry tab when you open the invoice from theReviewscreen. If you now bill an item on the Time & Expense tab that was not billed before, the order of items on the Compose screen will be restored to the default.
- SelectSaveto save your changes. DT Practice returns you to the Review tab.