Merged client details
This topic explains how DT Practice treats information when you merge one client into another.
For the purpose of this topic,
Client A
refers to the source client, and Client B
refers to the destination client.General
Client Class
- Clients of class Client or Prospect can be merged with other clients of class Client or Prospect
- Clients of class Administrative can only be merged with other clients of class Administrative
Client Status
- If Client A is active and Client B is inactive, all of client A’s engagements become inactive
- If Client A is active and Client B is inactive, all open schedule items (including projects and tasks) are canceled, except for scheduled phone calls.
Clients setup screen
Main tab
- DT Practice retains Client B’s information and deletes Client A’s information
- Referred byfield
- Other clients referred by Client A are now referred by Client B
- Clients referred by Client A’s primary contact are now referred by Client B’s primary contact
Contacts tab
- DT Practice deletes Client A’s primary contact
- If a deleted contact was also a preferred and/or billing contact for another client, DT Practice uses that client’s primary contact as preferred and/or billing contact
- If a deleted contact was also an additional contact for another client, DT Practice replaces the additional contact with Client B’s primary contact
- DT Practice adds preferred contact, billing contact, and additional contacts from Client A as additional contacts for Client B
- Other clients referred by Client A’s contact are now referred by Contact B’s contact
Engagements tab
- Engagements assigned only to Client A are changed to Client B’s engagement
- Engagements assigned only to Client B are unchanged
- If an engagement is assigned to both Client A and Client B, DT Practice retains Client B’s engagement setup and deletes Client A’s engagement setup, including rates, recurring bills, surcharges, links, and custom fields
Projects tab
- All of Client A’s projects are merged with Client B’s projects
- Client A’s projects are unchanged except for the assigned client
- Client B’s projects are unchanged
- If a project for Client A is assigned to an engagement that is already assigned to Client B and the project has the status of inactive for that engagement, then DT Practice cancels Client A’s open projects for that engagement
Billing and A/R tab
- If Client A was a parent to other clients, then Client B is the new parent to those clients
- If Client A was a subsidiary to other clients, the parent/subsidiary relationship is lost
- DT Practice retains all of Client B’s information and deletes all of Client A’s information, including billing instructions, A/R options, invoice & statement delivery, and saved credit cards and bank accounts
Client links and custom fields
- Client A’s client links and custom field values are deleted
- Client B’s links and custom fields are unaffected
Client notes
- Client A’s notes are deleted
- Client B’s notes are unaffected
Client history
Client A’s history is lost
Time and Expense Entry
Time and expense entries
- Client A’s time and expense entries transfer to Client B, including links and custom fields
- Transferred amounts are marked as overridden to prevent recalculation
Remote entries
- Remote entries in Client A’s Integrated Entries tab transfer to Client B
- Remote time entries transmitted for Client A after merging produce a "client not found" message on the Integrated Entries tab
Billing
Invoices
- Invoices for Client A are transferred to Client B, including links, custom fields, and changes made in Compose
- The following rules apply when Client A has invoices printed to DT Client Portal.
- If Client A’s billing contact is not the primary contact, then the billing contact is transferred to Client B along with portal information
- If the billing contact is the primary contact, then the contact is deleted
- All invoices remain in the existing portal
Accounts receivable
Receipts
- Receipts for Client A transfer to Client B
- Pending receipts for Client A in the Integrated Receipts tab are deleted
- Pending receipts for Client B in the Integrated Receipts tab are unaffected
- Saved bank accounts for Client A are deleted
Service charges
- If service charges for merged clients were posted on the same date, they are combined
- If Client A and Client B use different service charge rates, any of Client B’s service charges that are comprised of service charges merged from Client A are marked as overrides
Other items
Interactions
- Interactions for Client A are transferred to Client B
- DT Practice replaces the contact for merged interactions with Client B’s primary contact
- Client B’s interactions are unaffected
Schedule items
Client-specific schedule items include scheduled phone calls, to-do items, and meetings. Also see the Projects tab section earlier in this topic.
- Client A’s schedule items are transferred to Client B
- Clientfield is changed to Client B
- Transferred items include assigned staff, calendar entries, and all types of custom fields and links
- With Contactfield for scheduled phone calls is changed to primary contact for Client B
File transfers
File transfers for Client A are transferred to Client B
Recorded events
Recorded events for Client A are transferred to Client B