Setting up clients
Adding a client
You can add an entirely new client, or create a copy of an existing client that you can then modify.
Adding a new client
Follow these steps to add a new client.
- Open theClientssetup screen (Setup > Clients).
- Select theAddbutton.
- Complete the information on each of the following tabs.
- Main
- Contact Info
- Engagements
- Projects
- Billing and A/R
- Links
- Custom Fields
- Notes
- Select theEnterbutton to save the client.
Creating a copy of an existing client
To create a copy of an existing client’s record, follow these steps.
- In the list of clients, right-click the client whose record you want to copy and chooseCopy Clientfrom the context menu.
- Enter an ID for the new client in theIDfield. The ID cannot match the one assigned to the original client.
- Modify the information in the various tabs as needed.
- When you are finished, selectEnterto save the client.
Copying selected client information
When adding or modifying a client, you can copy all of the information on selected tabs from other clients. This can save you time when setting up client billing, A/R, or other information. To copy tab information from one client to another, follow these steps.
- In the list of clients, right-click the client whose information you want to copy and choose one of the following commands from the context menu, depending on the tab information you want to copy:
- Copy Main Values To...
- Copy Billing and A/R Values To...
- Copy Links To...
- Copy Custom Field Values To...
- In theCopy <Item> Todialog, use the drop-down list in theCopy Tofield to select the client to whom you want to copy the information.
- Mark theI understand this will replace any existing datacheckbox and select theCopy Nowbutton.All of the information from the source tab is copied to the destination tab, overwriting any existing information.
- SelectEnterto save changes to the client.
Deleting a client
note
If the client has time, expenses, or A/R entries, or other historical data in the application, you will not be allowed to delete the client.
- In the Clients list, select the client you want to delete.
- Select theDeletebutton.
- At the prompt, selectYes.