Reset your local Digita profile
Follow these steps to rename the Digita profile data folders that get created and updated when the software runs.
Renaming the folders has the effect of resetting the applications cache files back as if a new install, and also retaining any log files which might be useful afterwards. What they are renamed to doesn’t matter, the important element is that they are changed to something else so they can get recreated.
note
Before beginning:
- Follow these instructions on the computer having an issue.
- Ensure all Digita/Thomson Reuters/ONESOURCE applications are closed.
- Try Option 1 first. Use Option 2 as a backup option. Option 2 should be attempted if Option 1 isn't successful.
Option 1: Download the script
- Download the Rename Profile Data ZIP file.
- SelectSave. Open the ZIP file or extract the contents. Double click on theRenameProfileData.CMDfile.
- Follow the on-screen instructions.
- If the Security window appears, selectMore infoand thenRun anyway.
Option 2: Manual renaming
There are 4 folders to rename or delete:
- C:\Users\USER_NAME\AppData\Local\Digita\
- C:\Users\USER_NAME\AppData\Local\ThomsonReuters\
- C:\Users\USER_NAME\AppData\Roaming\Digita\
- C:\Users\USER_NAME\AppData\Roaming\Thomson Reuters\
For manual instruction on doing this, take the following action:
- Open a File Explorer window.

- In the address bar, type%localappdata%for Local App Data and pressEnter.

- Rename the foldersDigitaandThomson Reutersif they exist. For example, append-oldto the folder name.


- In the address bar, type%appdata%for App Data and pressEnter.

- Rename the foldersDigitaandThomson Reutersif they exist. For example, append-oldto the folder name.


- For Personal Tax, and some element of Corporation Tax, a registry key will also need to be deleted. Your IT Support may need to assist you if you are not familiar with the Registry. OpenRegedit, and delete this keyHKEY_CURRENT_USER\SOFTWARE\Digita Open SystemsnoteThe script in Option 1 does this automatically.
- The applications can now be launched again, and those folders will get recreated as if they were launching for the first time on that computer.