Virtual dataroom quick reference guide
Adding files to your dataroom
When you gain access to the Dataroom, your next step is to upload documents into it. The documents can be in various formats, such as PDF, Excel, Word, JPEG, etc.
You may have already created a document structure offline in the build-up to the Dataroom go-live. HighQ DataRoom has a simple function that allows you to transfer those files from your network or computer into the dataroom:
Select the
Files
tab.
To recreate your structure within the room, first compress your document structure. For example, to do this on a Mac, right-click on the folder or files and select
Compress [x] items
or Compress [Folder name]
.
The finder automatically opens and highlights a new ZIP folder called
Archive.zip
by default. (You can rename this zip file if you want).In the data room, go to
Add
, then Zipped documents
:
The
Add zipped documents
window opens:
Use
Browse
to select the newly created zip document and select Add
.Your folders and files are uploaded to the room. You can also add individual files this way, by selecting
Add
, then Documents
:
note
When uploading files, you can either respect or suppress notification preferences - if you want to notify everyone in the room of a file upload, you can do so.
Moving and editing your files
To delete files from your room:
Select the tick boxes next to each file you want to delete.
Go to
Actions
, then Delete
.
Use the navigation pane to move the selected files to the
Deleted items
area of the room:
To move or copy items in your room, select the files you want to move and select
Actions
, then Move or copy
.
The
Move or Copy
window opens. Choose the target site or folder to move or copy the file into. Select More actions
for the whole folder to sort the contents of the folder:
Go to
More actions
, then Edit details
.
The
Edit folder
screen opens. Select the Settings
tab to show the Sort folders by
and the Sort documents by
fields.
To sort either folders or documents, select one of the dropdown lists, then
Custom
.For
Files
, the Custom file sort
screen opens. Drag and drop the files to rearrange them, then select
Apply
to apply your changes.If you want to edit the custom sort you have applied, select
Edit custom sort
, which appears next to the dropdown menu after you selected Custom
.
Reviewing files in the room
To quickly review all of the room's files and file formats, select
Index
in the navigation pane. This displays the root folder system of the room, including the Name, Size and Last modified date. 
From here, you can use
Print Preview
and Export
. Export
will export the index with the file format of all files in the room.
Group permissions and adding users
It is important to understand that permissions for Datarooms are by Group, not by individual users. Select
Admin
in the dataroom:
Go to
User permissions
, then Groups
.
The
Group user permissions
screen opens.
Select
Add
, then New site group
to add a new site group.
The
Create group
screen opens:Enter a
Group name
and add all users you want into that group. Select Save
to save the new group. 
The new group is displayed in the
User group permissions
screen. Here you can Edit
group members and edit the permissions of which files that groups can view and what they can do with those files, by selecting Documents
:
Select
Documents
to display the Group permissions
screen:Here you can choose the permissions for the group:
- For Folders:View,Add file, andAdmin.
- For Files:View.

note
The inherit button can quickly permission entire folders to groups, but this is a site-wide feature that affects every group.
Users
Select
User permissions
, then Users
from the navigation pane. This shows a list of every user currently added to the room, alongside information such as their last log-in and when they were invited to the room:
From here, you can select individuals via the tick boxes to either remove them from the room, resend a user's invitation, or set a user's email alerts for any files uploaded to the room.
note
Removing a user also removes any audit trail they may have throughout the room.
Adding users
From the
User permissions
screen, you can add a new user by selecting Add users
:
On Step 1 of the
Add users
screen, you can enter or copy and paste users' emails into the box and select Next
. 
In Step 2, verify their
Display name
and Organisation name
.:
In Step 3, select the roles of the users within the room:
- Site administrators have full rights over the room, including the ability to add, delete and move content to the room, and add or remove users and their permissions to files.
- Member administrators can only add users to the room.
- Content administrators can only add content to the room.
You can give access to reporting, so that admins can run audits on who is looking at which files and when.
To invite a
standard user
, leave everything blank and select the Send invitation
checkbox to send the invites straight away:
In step 4, select which group the user(s) are in:

Select
Finish
to finalise the add user process. If you have clicked the send invitation checkbox, the invitations are sent immediately.Site notices (terms and conditions)
In the admin screen, you can add a 'terms & conditions' page that is displayed when a user logs in. This may be useful for an NDA, or similar, that the user must agree to when they log in, either the first time or every time.
To create this, go to
Site notices
, then Terms and conditions
from the navigation pane.
Announcements can also be made by going to
Site notices
, thenAnnouncements
. You can use these for any deadlines, for example.