Workflow rule - Move / Copy / Delete file
The
Move file
, Copy file
or Delete file
actions automatically manage the file that triggered the rule.note
File management actions are available for
File
and File metadata iSheet
triggers.Move file
If you select
Move file
as your action, Move to
is displayed:
Each field is described below:
- Move to- SelectChoose...to select a folder. When this action is triggered, the file will be moved to the selected folder.

Copy file
If you select
Copy file
as your action, Copy to
is displayed:
Each field is described below:
- Copy to- SelectChoose...to select a folder. When this action is triggered, the file will be copied to the selected folder.

Delete file
If you select
Delete file
as your action, the Delete message "Note: Deleted file will be moved automatically to recycle bin" is displayed:
When this action is triggered, the file will be deleted (moved to the recycle bin).
Add actions or save
Select
Add action
to trigger multiple actions, such as adding a task or sending an email.Select
Save
to save your actions.Save and activate
When you save your rule, it is saved and you are redirected to the rules screen:

In this screen, you can view the name, status and last modified date and time of your rule, and also who modified it.
Additionally, you have access to the
More actions
menu:
The options are as follows:
- Edit- allows you to edit the rule
- Activate- lets you activate your rules and changes the status fromDrafttoActive. If you selectMore actionson an active rule, you can insteadDisablethe rule.
- Delete- allows you to permanently delete the rule
Activating your rules
Once you have created your rules, they must be activated if you want them to trigger. Click
More actions
> Activate
to do so. If you activate rules but your workflow is not active, you will receive a warning message.