Removing Matter Participants
Only a company system administrator can remove a user who has special matter access. For all other participants, only a matter administrator can remove them from a matter. Company matter administrators can remove a company user or a firm user from the matter. Firm matter administrators can only remove users from their own firm.
A company system administrator or company office administrator can use Bulk Update to remove a user or firm from multiple matters at one time.
- Access the applicable matter then clickParticipants.
- In theMatter Rolecolumn, click the matter role hyperlink of the participant.
- In theRoledrop-down list, selectNo Matter Access.
- On the toolbar, selectSave & close.
note
Users can have multiple roles in a matter and can be added to a matter more than once. For example, a user could have been added as a regular user, and also as a delegate of another user. To view all instances of a user's participation in a matter, change the view selector to
Group by User
and click Change View
.Remove a firm from a matter
The procedure for removing a firm from a matter depends on whether the firm is a lead firm or a secondary firm.
Tip | A company system administrator or company office administrator can use Bulk Update to remove a user or firm from multiple matters at one time.
Lead Firm
There are several ways to remove the lead firm from a matter:
- Change the lead firm, then remove the firm's users as explained above.
- Change the matter settings so that there is no lead firm for the matter.
- Change the matter settings so that the matter is an Internal matter.
Secondary Firms
To remove a secondary firm from a matter, you must remove all the firm's users from the matter. See the procedure above.
note
The firm no longer has matter access once all firm users with direct matter access are removed. However, the firm will remain listed on
Firm
tab and Budget
tab; they cannot be removed from those tabs.