Lock the database
The Lock/Unlock Database window is available to members of the administrator security group and enables administrators to lock the database for maintenance, restrict access to selected staff, send system messages to selected staff, and log staff out of the database remotely.
To open the Lock/Unlock Database window, select
Tools
, then Lock/Unlock Database
.Lock the database
Use the Lock Database tab to lock the database.
- Select theLock Databasetab.
- Enter a message atDisplay this message to Staff who are denied access to a locked database, or leave the default message.
- To lock the database for all staff except members of the administrator security group, mark theRestrict access to Administratorscheckbox.
- To let extra staff members who aren't members of the administrator security group to access the database, perform the following steps.
- Mark thePermit additional Staff to access a locked databasecheckbox.
- Select

- Use the selection window to choose extra staff members who will be able to access the database.
- SelectOKwhen finished.
- SelectApplyto lock the database with the restrictions you specified.
Send messages and sign out staff remotely
Use the Send Message tab to send messages to staff members who are signed in to the Practice CS database and to sign staff members out remotely. These features are useful when you need all staff members to sign out of the database for maintenance.
tip
Select
to update the list of staff who is signed in to the database.
to update the list of staff who is signed in to the database. Send a message
- Select theSend Messagetab.
- Enter a message in the Send a message field.
- Do 1 of the following:
- To send a message to one or more recipients, select the recipients from the list of staff signed in to the database (select and hold the Ctrl or Shift key to select multiple recipients), then selectSend to Selected.
- To send a message to all staff members who are currently signed in to the database, selectSend to All.
note
Messages may take up to a minute to be delivered to all recipients.
Sign out staff remotely
To sign out staff members who don't respond to messages, follow these steps.
- Select theSend Messagetab.
- Select one or more staff members from the list of staff signed in to the database (select and hold the Ctrl or Shift key to select multiple staff members).
- SelectLogout Selectedto sign out all selected staff members from the Practice CS database.
note
- To prevent staff members from signing back in to Practice CS, you should set and apply Lock Database settings before signing out any staff members remotely.
- The list of signed in staff will immediately reflect the results of signing out staff remotely, but it may take up to a minute for the sign-out process to complete for all selected staff members.