September 25, 2014

Canyon County, Idaho, Tax Assessor Named Office Holder of the Year by Thomson Reuters

County Delivers More Accurate, Streamlined Tax Processes for Citizens

Washington, D.C. - Thomson Reuters announced today that it has selected Gene Kuehn, assessor in Canyon County, Idaho, for its annual Office Holder of the Year award.

Mr. Kuehn received the award on Sept. 24 in New Orleans at the Aumentum User Groups Conference – the annual gathering of government sector customers of the Tax & Accounting business of Thomson Reuters.

The Office Holder of the Year is part of the Thomson Reuters Public Sector Champion Awards, which recognizes institutions and executives that have achieved excellence in planning, leadership, and service.

Mr. Kuehn was selected to receive this prestigious award from among more than 1,000 Thomson Reuters government customers worldwide due to his agency's successful implementation of technology initiatives that improved efficiency and accuracy of property valuation processes.

Under Mr. Kuehn's leadership, Canyon County harnessed Thomson Reuters Aumentum software to automate various tax assessment processes, such as homeowner exemption benefits, annexations, and supplemental home values. The result was faster, more precise assessments that saved both the county and its taxpayers time and money.

"The level to which Canyon County has improved accuracy and efficiency of workflow under Mr. Kuehn's efforts are a testament to his unyielding commitment to innovation," said Joe Jackson, managing director for the Tax and Accounting business of Thomson Reuters. "We're very proud to acknowledge Mr. Kuehn for spearheading these new, streamlined processes and congratulate him on this recognition."

"I'm extremely thankful for the support and dedication of my team, who worked tirelessly to help achieve faster, more accurate processes, and to Thomson Reuters for making our integration of their products as seamless as possible," said Kuehn. "I'm honoured and humbled to receive this award."

The Public Sector Champion Awards were presented to government programs and officials in the following categories: Excellence in Business Process Transformation, Excellence in Office Leadership, and Excellence in Constituent Service.

Other notable winners at the Public Section Champion Awards include:

  • Jurisdiction of the Year: City of Cape Town, South Africa.
  • Excellence in Business Transformation: Elizabeth Stair, Jamaica National Land Agency, Jamaica; Jim McLean, Orangeburg County, SC; Matt Archer, Yankton County, SD.
  • Excellence in Office Leadership: Brian Loughrey, Sarasota County, FL; Mariann Matz, Clark County, NV.
  • Excellence in Constituent Service: Michael Schultz, La Porte County, IN; Anne Gannon, Palm Beach County, FL; Debbie Stevens, Warwick County, Indiana.

About Thomson Reuters

Thomson Reuters is the world's leading source of intelligent information for businesses and professionals. We combine industry expertise with innovative technology to deliver critical information to leading decision makers in the financial and risk, legal, tax and accounting, intellectual property and science and media markets, powered by the world's most trusted news organization. Thomson Reuters shares are listed on the Toronto and New York Stock Exchanges. For more information, go to