November 20, 2014

Thomson Reuters Announces 10th Annual Compliance Awards Winners

Premier compliance industry awards recognise achievements of compliance professionals

London - Thomson Reuters today announced the winners of its 10th Annual Compliance Awards. The winners were presented with their trophies at The Dorchester, Park Lane, London, compèred by Peter Haines, Peter Haines Compliance Consultancy Limited. Over 300 guests attended Wednesday evening's event including leading compliance professionals and friends from related industries.

The Annual Compliance Awards were created in 2004 to recognise the successes and achievements of compliance professionals from across the financial services industry and supporting professional services firms who safeguard the integrity of their businesses, positioning them for continued growth and success.

The winners are as follows:

  • 2014 Sandro Buttaci Memorial Award for the Young Compliance Officer of the Year
    Omotola Denloye – MFS Investment Management
  • 2014 Most Effective Compliance Training at a Regulated Firm (2 winners)
    Sarah Garrett & Kirsty Keck – Nationwide Building Society
    Lenka Vackova – Artisan Partners UK LLP
  • 2014 Head of Anti-Money Laundering and Fraud Prevention of the Year
    Colin Ford – Renaissance Capital
  • 2014 Money Laundering Reporting Officer of the Year
    Rob Thornton – Standard Life Investments
  • 2014 Compliance Personality of the Year
    Robert Quinn – Robert Quinn Consulting
  • 2014 Compliance Officer of the Year
    Debbie Marks –Orange
  • 2014 Chief Compliance Officer of the Year, sponsored by Rutherford Search
    Lisa A. Rodriguez – BMO Capital Markets Ltd
  • 2014 Compliance Innovator of the Year
    Karis McLarty –TUI Travel PLC
  • 2014 Best Consulting Firm of the Year
    Financial Services Training Partners (FSTP)
  • 2014 Best Regulatory Law Firm or Lawyer of the Year
    Sam Robinson – Nabarro LLP
  • 2014 Award for Outstanding Long-Term Service to the Compliance Industry
    Margaret Chamberlain – Travers Smith

"Over the last decade, the Thomson Reuters Annual Compliance Awards have recognised the exceptional achievements of compliance professionals and become an important part of the compliance calendar," said David Craig, president of Financial & Risk, Thomson Reuters. "Among the many challenges facing compliance professionals today is the unprecedented volume of change in regulation and legislation. Every one of our winners has helped ensure that changes are communicated and understood as they are implemented effectively across their organisations. Congratulations to all our winners."

"We have witnessed and experienced a seismic shift in compliance over the past ten years," said Phil Cotter, managing director, Risk, Thomson Reuters. "Through adapting to ongoing change, compliance professionals have shown continued innovation and resilience in an ever-challenging market place, driving support for the compliance function and promoting sustainable compliant cultures. We are proud to recognise and celebrate the excellence of the teams and individuals who drive our industry forward."

The event was sponsored by Rutherford Search. Also in attendance at the event were Standard Bank, Citi, Walker Morris, Robert Walters, MFS, Investigo, FSTP, HAYS, IG, Accenture, Ashurst, Atos, Badenoch & Clare, Compliance Professionals, BMO Capital Markets, FINSCAN, Black Swan Group, Nationwide, Nabarro, Sturgeon Ventures, Walker Morris. For more information, go to:

Thomson Reuters
Thomson Reuters is the world's leading source of intelligent information for businesses and professionals. We combine industry expertise with innovative technology to deliver critical information to leading decision makers in the financial and risk, legal, tax and accounting, intellectual property and science and media markets, powered by the world's most trusted news organization. Thomson Reuters shares are listed on the Toronto and New York Stock Exchanges. For more information, go to