January 8, 2024

Thomson Reuters Founders Share Company appoints new members to its Board of Directors

Toronto, January 5, 2024. The Thomson Reuters Founders Share Company announced today the appointment of five new members to its Board of Directors. The new Trustees are Dr. Naushad Forbes, Ambassador Michael Froman, Ann Marie Lipinski, Sharmila Nebhrajani OBE and Dr. Stephen Toope, who join the Founders Share board effective December 31, 2023. 

The Thomson Reuters Founders Share Company acts as a guardian of the Thomson Reuters Trust Principles. Established in 1941, the Trust Principles include the all-important preservation of independence, integrity and freedom from bias in the gathering and dissemination of information and news. 

"I am delighted to welcome Naushad, Michael, Ann Marie, Sharmila and Stephen as Trustees to the Thomson Reuters Founders Share Company,” said Kim Williams, Chairman of the Founders Share Company's Board. “Reuters and Thomson Reuters have long been relied upon for objective, factual and trusted information. These five new Trustees have unique experience across journalism, technology, commerce, scholarship, the law and public service that will prove extremely valuable in upholding the Trust Principles, which are fundamental to Thomson Reuters.” 

Dr. Forbes is the Co - Chairman of Forbes Marshall, India's leading Steam Engineering and Control Instrumentation firm. He chairs the Steam Engineering Companies within the group. He is Chairman, Ananta Aspen Centre and was President of CII for 2016 – 17. He is the Chairman of Centre for Technology, Innovation and Economic Research in Pune. He received his Bachelors, Masters and PhD Degrees from Stanford University, and was presented the Degree of Doctor honoris causa by the University of Edinburgh. 

Ambassador Froman is president of the Council on Foreign Relations (CFR). He previously served as vice chairman and president of strategic growth at Mastercard, chairman of the Mastercard Center for Inclusive Growth, and a distinguished fellow at CFR. Ambassador Froman served in President Barack Obama’s cabinet as the U.S. trade representative from June 2013 to January 2017. From January 2009 to June 2013, Froman served at the White House as assistant to the president and deputy national security advisor for international economic affairs, where he was responsible for coordinating policy on international trade, finance, energy, climate change, and development issues. Before joining the Obama administration, Froman served in several roles at Citigroup, including chief executive officer of its international insurance business, chief operating officer of its alternative investments business, and head of its infrastructure investment business. He also has served as a senior fellow at the Council on Foreign Relations and a resident fellow at the German Marshall Fund. Froman received a bachelor’s degree in public and international affairs from Princeton University, a doctorate in international relations from Oxford University, and a law degree from Harvard Law School, where he was an editor of the Harvard Law Review.

Ann Marie Lipinksi, a former long term editor of the Chicago Tribune, is curator of the Nieman Foundation for Journalism at Harvard, a position she assumed in 2011. The Nieman Foundation for Journalism is home to an international fellowship program and an innovative group of publications about journalism, including Nieman Lab, Nieman Reports and Nieman Storyboard. Lipinski was a Nieman Fellow at Harvard in the class of 1990 and served as co-chair of the Pulitzer Prize board from 2011-2012. Lipinski is a trustee of the Poynter Institute for journalism and a member of the American Academy of Arts & Sciences. She received a Bachelor’s Degree from the University of Michigan. 

Sharmila Nebhrajani is Chairman of the UK’s National Institute for Health and Care Excellence, responsible for producing evidence-based guidance to support the clinical and cost effectiveness of medical interventions in the UK’s National Health Service. She served as chief executive of Wilton Park, an executive agency of the UK Foreign and Commonwealth Office and for 15 years as Chief Operating Officer of BBC New Media and Technology. She currently sits on the boards of a range of listed companies as well as Oxford University and the Lord Chamberlain’s Committee of the UK Royal Family. Nebhrajani received an MA in Physiological Sciences, Medicine, from Oxford University, is a World Fellow at Yale and was awarded an OBE by the late Queen for services to medical research. 

Dr. Toope is President and Chief Executive Officer at the Canadian Institute for Advanced Research, a Canadian-based global research organization that brings together teams of top researchers from around the world to address important and complex questions. Previously, he served as the 346th Vice- Chancellor of the University of Cambridge, the first non-UK national to hold the post and before that was the 12th president and vice-chancellor of the University of British Columbia. Dr. Toope received his BA and MA in History and Literature from Harvard University and a PhD in International Law from Trinity College. 

The five new appointments to the Thomson Reuters Founders Share Company replace exiting board members Lawton Fitt, Nicholas Lemann, Vikram Singh Mehta and Steven Turnbull. 

About Thomson Reuters 

Thomson Reuters (NYSE / TSX: TRI) (“TR”) informs the way forward by bringing together the trusted content and technology that people and organizations need to make the right decisions. The company serves professionals across legal, tax, accounting, compliance, government, and media. Its products combine highly specialized software and insights to empower professionals with the data, intelligence, and solutions needed to make informed decisions, and to help institutions in their pursuit of justice, truth, and transparency. Reuters, part of Thomson Reuters, is a world leading provider of trusted journalism and news. For more information, visit tr.com